Original Compositions

  • A Suite Dream (2 violins, viola, cello, bass)
  • Breaking the Problem (violin and piano)
  • Currents (piano, clarinet, cello)
  • Fiddle Suite (string orchestra)
  • Life Dance (piano, violin, cello)
  • Piano (a capella choir)
  • Christmas Sinfonietta in G (string orchestra)
  • String Quartet #1 in E Flat (2 violins, viola, cello)


  • Haydn Violin Concerto in G, #4, mvmnt 1-2
  • Mozart Violin Concerto in D, #2, mvmnt 1-3


  • Etude #1 in D Minor (solo violin)
  • Etude #2 in G Minor (solo violin)

Original Arrangements

Carols of Christmas Bach front
  • Amazing Grace (violin and piano)
  • Ave Maria (2 violins, viola, cello)
  • Christmas Medley (2 violins, viola, cello)
  • Playing With Mozart (full orchestra)
  • Sleigh Ride – unpublished (2 violins, viola, cello)
  • Vince Guaraldi Medley – unpublished (2 violins, viola, cello)
  • You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch – unpublished (2 violins, viola, cello)

Carols of Christmas for String Quartet

Arrangements by Stuart Carlson

Carols of Christmas

Program Notes from the Publisher:
Stuart Carlson’s "Carols of Christmas" for string quartet are excellent and creative arrangements that sparkle with the holiday season. Stuart Ross Carlson is quickly establishing himself as a gifted composer and arranger. In addition, he has received numerous accolades as a violinist. His works have been performed across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Japan. Lauren Keiser Music Publishing introduced Mr. Carlson with our publication of his arrangement of the Bach D minor Toccata and Fugue for solo violin. Strings Magazine featured this publication with a full page rave review in October of 2014.

Program Notes from Stuart:
Songs of the Christmas season are among my very favorites! There is such a wide variety of tunes and for some reason I am drawn to them. My goal is always to create quality arrangements. I try to make the parts wonderfully fun for both the players and the audience. Enjoy!

Audio Files:
1. Silent Night
2. First Noel
3. Carol of the Bells
4. O Come All Ye Faithful
5. Hark the Herald
6. O Holy Night
7. Deck the World

Click Here to Download All MP3 Audio Files (zip)

Click Here to Preview the Entire Score

Carols of Christmas sheet music can be purchased at your favorite online or local music store such as Shar Music, Al Hemer Music, and SheetMusicPlus.

Toccata & Fugue in d minor

Arrangements by Stuart Carlson

Bach front

Program Notes from Stuart:
As I was studying this piece, I was intrigued by the fact that many of the chords and motifs within it can be transitioned for performance on the violin. I later discovered that there is historical speculation that Bach may have composed this piece for solo violin. Inspired by this, I used the urtext of the piece to create this arrangement. It is in the piece’s original key, and it is designed to transcribe the full and grand sound of the organ to the solo violin. This arrangement, in addition to creating the true sound of Bach’s piece, adds variation-like figures within the Fugue’s main theme which is repeated throughout. These figures include sixteenth-note triplets, thirty-second notes, and additional double-stops. It was important to me to remain true to my sense of what Bach may have intended for this piece if played on a violin, though I also allowed my own musical and stylistic preferences to blend into my arrangement.

Audio Files:
A companion studio recording for the sheet music (Lauren Keiser Music Publishing/Hal Leonard) is here! You can click the first link below to listen or download for free. You can also enjoy Stuart’s live performance of an early version of his arrangement by clicking the second link below.

Click here to listen to (or download) the companion studio recording

Click Here to view the live performance on YouTube

Toccata and Fugue sheet music can be purchased at your favorite online or local music store such as Shar Music, Al Hemer Music, and SheetMusicPlus. ALSO available at these stores (and many others) is Stuart’s “Carols of Christmas” arrangements for string quartet (Southern Music/Hal Leonard)!